Dendrochronological dating of wood samples indicate that Nore stave church was built after 1167. The church was built with galleries, a chancel and cross naves - an architectural style that was unique in Europe during the Middle Ages. This style has come to be known as Nummedals-type. Decoration are from different periods. Nore is decorated with tendril and animal carvings. Animal characters featured include dragons and lions.
The church has a central mast, that was originally the support for a tower, mostly likely containing church bells. The walls and ceiling of the interior are decorated with murals, among them scenes from the Bible presented as riddles. The church has been remodeled several times, with many original parts are preserved. The church was partly rebuilt in the 1600s and 1700s. The chancel was replaced in 1683 and the spokes of the nave in the first half of 18th century. The church received a new roof in 1730. Comprehensive repair was carried out in 1927.
In 1888, art historian, professor of art history and author, Lorentz Dietrichson (1834 - 1917), became the owner of the church. Professor Dietrichson, who had played a major role in founding the Society for the Preservation of Ancient Norwegian Monuments (Fortidsminneforeningen), donated the property to the society in 1890.